Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

team A inbounding ball under their offensive hoop. ball is thrown in, inadvertently the horn goes off {20 left on shot clock}, Team A lays it in. good hoop or not?.. call made was inadvertent whistle, no hoop {neither ref actually blew a whistle}

Asked by midd44 over 9 years ago

There is a long running example of this in previous case books from NFHS: "If the scorer signals the horn when the ball is live, the officials shall ignore the signal if a scoring play is in progress. Otherwise the officials may stop play to determine why the horn was sounded."

In your scenario, count the basket, then blow the whistle (because a scoring play was going on while the horn was originally sounded.

offensive player drives to the basket and makes the shot .
a foul is called by the ref on the defensive player . however he said the foul was after the shot was made
defensive player gets the foul and the defensive team gets the ball ?

Asked by paul mcgrath over 10 years ago

Ok. Situation 1: Offensive player A1 drives, shoots the ball while in the air and is fouled by defensive player B1 (before A1 returns to the floor). A1 is considered an "airborne shooter" until he hits the ground and is considered in the act of shooting. Count the basket and award one free throw.

Situation 2: Offensive player A1 drives, shoots the ball and lands back on the floor and is fouled by B1. Possession ended when the shot is released and the shooter is no longer an airborne shooter in the act when he lands on the floor. So when he is on the floor it is a common foul on B1 and award the ball to team A or free throws if in bonus. Count the basket by A1.

Situation 3: Offensive player A1 shoots the ball, ball goes in, and A1 crashes illegally (before landing on the floor) into B1 who has obtained legal guarding position, player control foul on A1. Ball goes to team B and no free throws. Wipe out made basket by A1.

Situation 4: Offensive player A1 shoots the ball, lands on the floor, ball goes in and A1 fouls B1. Count the basket. Common foul on A1, free throws for B1 if in bonus, otherwise ball goes to team B.

Is there a rule in Indiana High School re: Can a coach play a freshman player who is not on JV roster in some games / not all games whch takes out a JV player who is on JV roster, he isn,t even able to dress in uniform and sit on bench with team.

Asked by Jackiejdp over 9 years ago

I do not know. Each state association sets rules for eligibility so you will have to check with Indiana's high school association.

While in the air, grabbing a rebound, in one motion I land on both feet and the ball touches the ground with it in both my hands, never letting it go, what can't I do?

Asked by Audelio almost 9 years ago

If your hands are on top of the ball pushing it to the floor it is double dribble. If the ball drops and you pick it up it could be a muff, and if you lift one foot the other will be the pivot. Then you can dribble.

Player A and Player B are fighting for a ball that is heading toward out of bounds.
Player B in his efforts ends up out of bounds and keep in mind has not touched the ball while going out of bounds, so it is still a live play
Player A while still in

Asked by Jeff almost 10 years ago

The ball is inbounds until the ball touches any out of bounds area, or it touches a player who is out of bounds. If A is still inbounds and the ball is still inbounds, it is not out of bounds until an out of bounds player touches it.

A1 fouls B1, B2 fouls A2 with two officials calling the fouls at the same time. Team B is in the bonus, Team A is not. Do you shoot a bonus for Team B or do you resume play at point of interruption?

Asked by RefnDre about 10 years ago

If the officials determine that the fouls were simultaneous then no free throws are shot, and it goes back to the point of interruption. If the simultaneous fouls were committed with no team possession (for example while rebounding) then it goes to the possession arrow.

If the second foul was intentional and committed after the first foul it would be a technical. Then you would administer the penalties for the first foul (free throws if in the bonus or on a shooting foul), then you would administer the technical foul and the ball would be taken out at half court by the opponent of the technical foul shooter.

O1 is standing in his lane and is about to get a three second count when his teammate takes a shot that never touches the rim or backboard. O1 catches the ball and then dribbles in the lane before passing. Is this a three second violation?

Asked by Alfredo over 10 years ago

In NFHS rules, the three second restriction is lifted when a legitimate try for the basket goes up. Note that it does not say "when the ball hits the ring". So the first part of your question's answer is no, there is no three second violation because once a try goes up there is no team possession anymore. Secondly, in NFHS rules any player can retrieve an air ball shot as long as it was deemed a legitimate try. Once retrieved, team and player possession are reestablished, and he gets a new 3 second count if he is still in the lane.