Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Follow up to the block/charge question 2 down. For screens, when a defender is blind to a screen they may take a huge hit. I see this called a foul on the screener ~75% of the time. Is that call correct? Is the screener flexing his shoulder illegal?

Asked by Bball Right over 10 years ago

Here are the screening rules:1) when screening a stationary opponent from the front or side, the screener may be anywhere short of contact.2) when screening a stationary opponent from behind the screener must allow the opponent one normal step backward3) when screening a moving opponent the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may set up. This may vary and may be one to two normal steps.4) when screening a player moving in the same direction, the player behind is responsible for all contact.

Follow-up: Is this the correct call to make? Calling the technical % wise giving the advantage to the offending team. Free lay-up is guaranteed 2 points. Assume FT% is 80% and avg team fg % .3-.4. Calling the tech seems to remove there advantage.

Asked by Ryan about 10 years ago

True. It is the same halt in advantage as an intentional foul which stops a breakaway. The rules try to take care of this by awarding 2 free throws plus the ball. However, I agree. Although I never ran into an intentional T to stop a breakaway, it would be good practice to let the player finish the layup or jump shot and then call the T.

During a dribble from backorder from court the ball is an A's front court if one of dribblers a one's feet is on the division line and the other foot and the ball are touching and A's front court true or false

Asked by Brad about 9 years ago

To move from the backcourt to frontcourt all three points have to advance to the frontcourt...2 feet and the ball. So if a dribbler moves from the backcourt with one foot advancing as well as the ball into the frontcourt, BUT the other foot is stepping on the half court line he is considered to be backcourt.

Team A rebounds the ball and tries a long pass to player in front court. Team B player with both feet in Team A's back court jumps and intercepts the pass but lands with one foot on each side of the half line. Is this a back court violation

Asked by John F almost 10 years ago

No violation. Normally, an airborne player is considered to be from the court position where he was when he jumped. So, in your example, Player B jumps from his front court, catches the ball and lands in his backcourt (partially), This would normally be a violation. However there are two situations where this principle does not apply. 1) either team on a throw in, and 2) a defensive player intercepting a pass (exactly your scenario). No violation because of exception # 2. Play on.

I'm not sure if there is another page where I can ask this question or not, if there is just let me know... I'm currently in the military and we run an intramural league and we follow the NFHS rules, we are trying to clarify a proper call to further help educate our league/ refs/ and coaches..... We had an instance where a shooting foul occurred, so the Shooter went to the line, however before the first FT the opposing team made an illegal substitution which resulted in a technical foul. So dead ball, technical foul the team gets to shoot whoever they choose to shoot those technical FTs. After those FTs, what should the refs do? They had a shooting foul before the Technical, does the shooter still get their FTs? To they get their FTs and the ball? Or do they get the tech FTs and the ball out of bounds? We tubal you for your time and any help clarifying a rule in a situation like this would be greatly helpful

Asked by Paul about 10 years ago

Sir, thank you for your service! The answer to your question lies in a simple rule of thumb: administer fouls in the order they occurred. So, clear the lane, let the original player shoot his free throws or one and one. Then, the same team can choose any player on the floor to shoot the technicals, then award the ball at half court for the same team.

Is Carrying still a foul. I see it at every level of basketball.

Asked by Jim over 10 years ago

"Carrying the ball" is not a foul. It is a violation that used to be called an "illegal dribble" but several years ago NFHS added the carrying signal as its own violation.

Hi, so nowhere in the college rule book does it mention throwing/slamming the ball down is a technical foul, yet it gets called a tech regularly. Seems it could be used very arbitrarily against a team. Why is it a tech when it's not in the rule book?

Asked by Laura almost 10 years ago

The rule book does not prohibit tossing the ball to the ref, nor does it prohibit a player from talking to the ref...yet if either is done in an unsportsnanlike way it could be a technical. If you slam the ball to protest a call most refs will call a t. So it goes to the judgemeny of the ref as to whether an action is unsportsmanlike.