Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Player A and Player B are fighting for a ball that is heading toward out of bounds.
Player B in his efforts ends up out of bounds and keep in mind has not touched the ball while going out of bounds, so it is still a live play
Player A while still in

Asked by Jeff about 10 years ago

The ball is inbounds until the ball touches any out of bounds area, or it touches a player who is out of bounds. If A is still inbounds and the ball is still inbounds, it is not out of bounds until an out of bounds player touches it.

Can a referee order a player to retrieve a basketball that has gone out of bounds? Saw a player start then stop to get a ball that was rolling off the court and went out of bounds. The ref could ask the player to help but can't compel that act

Asked by Chipjr over 9 years ago

You are correct. There is nothing in the rule book which would compel a player to retrieve the ball for an official. The only related rule deals with a player not giving the ball to an official or touching the ball when the other team has possession, like after a basket by your own team. This would be a delay of game.

COACH YELLS FOR A TIMEOUT WHILE THE BALL IS NOT IN CONTROL BY EITHER TEAM. WOULD YOU EVER CONSIDER GIVING THEM A TECHNICAL FOUL FOR THIS?

Asked by AL almost 10 years ago

If I thought that it was a legitimate attempt at a time out, or if it happens the first time then I would ignore the request. If I thought the coach was purposely trying to interfere with the ordinary flow of the game by asking for a time out without possession then I would call an unsportsmanlike technical.

A1 fouls B1, B2 fouls A2 with two officials calling the fouls at the same time. Team B is in the bonus, Team A is not. Do you shoot a bonus for Team B or do you resume play at point of interruption?

Asked by RefnDre over 10 years ago

If the officials determine that the fouls were simultaneous then no free throws are shot, and it goes back to the point of interruption. If the simultaneous fouls were committed with no team possession (for example while rebounding) then it goes to the possession arrow.

If the second foul was intentional and committed after the first foul it would be a technical. Then you would administer the penalties for the first foul (free throws if in the bonus or on a shooting foul), then you would administer the technical foul and the ball would be taken out at half court by the opponent of the technical foul shooter.

While in the air, grabbing a rebound, in one motion I land on both feet and the ball touches the ground with it in both my hands, never letting it go, what can't I do?

Asked by Audelio about 9 years ago

If your hands are on top of the ball pushing it to the floor it is double dribble. If the ball drops and you pick it up it could be a muff, and if you lift one foot the other will be the pivot. Then you can dribble.

Follow-up: Is this the correct call to make? Calling the technical % wise giving the advantage to the offending team. Free lay-up is guaranteed 2 points. Assume FT% is 80% and avg team fg % .3-.4. Calling the tech seems to remove there advantage.

Asked by Ryan about 10 years ago

True. It is the same halt in advantage as an intentional foul which stops a breakaway. The rules try to take care of this by awarding 2 free throws plus the ball. However, I agree. Although I never ran into an intentional T to stop a breakaway, it would be good practice to let the player finish the layup or jump shot and then call the T.

Player A is taking the ball out of bounds and passes it in to player B. Player B quickly passes it back to the inbounder (player A). Does player A have to have both feet inbounds or does she have to place one inbounds to be established as in?

Asked by lauren over 9 years ago

one foot down inbounds is ok as long as the other foot is in the air and not out of bounds.