Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

If a player stops his or her dribble and is off balance and ready to fall on the floor which would traveling and puts his or hers hand on the floor to prevent from flooring on the floor is that traveling

Asked by ernie liggett, sr over 9 years ago

It is not traveling if a hand touches the floor as long as your feet have not violated the traveling rules. Any other part of your body (beside hands and feet) touching the floor while in control of the ball constitutes traveling.

When a player gets fouled but the coach sends another player to shoot the free throw?

Asked by Dave over 9 years ago

Yes, the referees are in charge of designating who is entitled to shoot bonus or shooting fouls. Coaches designate who will shoot technicals.

As a best practice, when the foul calling official calls the foul, the nearest other official should come in and point to the shooter and verbalize, "I got the shooter". This is better than the other official saying, " the shooter is number XX" because to reporting official can get tangled up with the shooter and fouler's numbers.

1 pt game, ref gives ball to inbound with 7.6-7.9 secs left and running clock. team does not get ball in until less than 1.5 seconds, so clearly five seconds, but no call. Coach shows ref 6 seconds ran, but no call. What would you do?

Asked by Michael over 10 years ago

According to NFHS rules, a referee can alter the scoreboard if, and only if he has direct knowledge of the error and correction. So, in this case you start with 7.6 minutes. The throw-in team has 5 seconds to avoid a violation. So theoretically the violation should have been called with 2.6 seconds. You might think that this is the end of it. However, it takes longer to administer a throw in than 2.6 seconds, allowing both teams to set up. So unfortunately I think the game ended. This is why I dislike running clocks in close games.

In a bonus situation (single or double), player A gets fouled and has to shoot free throws for the orange team, but instead player B for the orange team goes and shoots for him and makes them both. If there is a call, what is it?

Asked by Anonymous over 9 years ago

Putting the wrong player on the line for free throws is one of 5 correctable errors IF it is recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. If the wrong person was awarded free throws and it is recognized in a timely fashion, the free throws are cancelled and the correct player is awarded the free throws.So, for example the wrong player makes one of two free throws and then the clock is started and a team makes a field goal (the ball is dead after a made basket). Once the other team obtains the ball to put it in play (the ball is live when it is at the disposal of the throw in player) it is too late to correct the error.You can see what a mess this is - best advice for officials, get it right the first time.

When does an assist begin & end. ex. If a player inbounds the ball to another player & the second player dribbles down court & scores does the first player still get an assist?

Asked by Jim about 10 years ago

This is a tough question. There was a Wall Street Journal article which addressed the grey areas of what an assist is. Here is a quote from that article:

"The NBA statistician's manual says an assist should be "credited to a player tossing the last pass leading directly to a field goal, only if the player scoring the goal responds by demonstrating immediate reaction to the basket." It sounds simple enough. As assist is a pass made to a shooter who scores. But when you try to apply this definition during a game, it gets murky. There are no details about how many steps shooters can take after receiving a pass; nothing about shot-fakes, head-fakes or pivot moves and no hard guidelines on how much time can elapse between the pass and the shot.

Thank you for the response about me sending you a video to review. My email address is djmikeemike@gmail.com

Asked by Mikegabe about 10 years ago

ok

I jump out of bounds to save a ball, ball gets saved (bounces a couple of times), I go in bounds to get the ball. I dribble the ball then I get called for travel. Is this a bad call? I haven't established clear possession yet.

Asked by tonyastro over 9 years ago

If you directed the ball purposely (saved the ball from going out of bounds) by redirecting the ball in a controlled way that constitutes possession. Ref's judgement as to whether you controlled the loose ball, or not.