Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Can I email you a video and can you tell me if it is travelling? I have an ongoing argument and I need to put it to rest. Thank you.

Asked by Mike about 10 years ago

Sure. put in your email address and I will contact you.

Can you explain how a charging violation is determined when player A leaves his feet for a shot attempt and lands on player B before touching the ground. Is this a charge? Does it matter if the defense if moving? Thanks.

Asked by PJohnston - Chicago over 10 years ago

The defender must legally obtain the vertical space BEFORE the offensive player alights for a shot. So, if player B legally obtains a place on the floor and Player A crashes into him while coming down from a shot, player control foul on A.

The defensive player can be moving, but the rulebook says he must be moving obliquely, which means the defender cannot move directly into the path of the offensive player. For example a player who is backpedaling and is run over by the offensive player would draw a player control foul on the dribbler. You can also move sideways and backwards as a defender and still draw a charge.

My question is, if a team player steals the ball from the other team, try's to bring to his basket and misses the basket and buzzer goes off, can a referee extend time of 4 10ths of a second because she said the other team fouled the player?

Asked by Antonietta over 9 years ago

No. The officials cannot extend time. The only adjustment that officials can make is if they have specific knowledge of a clock discrepancy. For example, if a referee grants a timeout but notices that the clock ran some time after the whistle was blown.

The player catches the ball under the basket with both feet planted. He then hops backwards landing on both feet and shoots the layup. is this a travel?

Asked by Coach Joe over 9 years ago

As you describe it, it is traveling. If you catch the ball with both feet on the ground, when you lift one of the feet the other becomes the pivot. But if a player hops, neither foot is a pivot and it is traveling.

Offensive player O1 at top of key is guarded by defensive player D1. Offensive teammate O2 is moving to set a pick on D1. O1 starts dribbling and D1 starts moving directly into O2. D1 and O2 are both moving as they collide. any foul call on O2?

Asked by Larrysm almost 9 years ago

Here are the screening rules:1) Stationary B1: A2 is setting a pick and B1 can see the pick within his visual field, then A2 can set the pick anywhere short of contact. If B1 cannot see the pick within his visual field, A1 must set the pick no closer than 1 normal step.2) Moving B1: When screening a moving opponent, the rule book says he must be given time and distance to avoid the pick. The speed of the opponent is a key to allowing this distance and may be one or two steps, all in the judgement of the officials3) Moving B1 and A1, the player moving behind the direction they are moving is responsible for contact.

can a high school referee reverse a technical foul on a coach.

Asked by Tankcrewman over 9 years ago

yes if he changes the call right away. it looks sloppy, but if it is the right thing to do he should reverse it.

2 freethrows, on 1st attempt, "After" shootr releases ball defendr boxes him out. Whats the correct call?

Asked by Rex over 10 years ago

In NFHS rules, a non-free thrower cannot enter the lane until the ball hits the rim or backboard. Assuming there was no harsh contact and that the player blocking out entered after the ball hit something (or went in) this should be a no call.