Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Hi Rndballref, A1 has ball out of bounds 5 ft past half court inside front court. A1 bounce passes ball to A2 who is in backcourt meaning that he ball bounces in front court before A2 catches it while standing in back court. Legal or turnover? Thx

Asked by Peter Johnston almost 10 years ago

Legal. There is mo team possession on a throw in. So team A does not have possession until they hold the ball in the backcourt. The fact that the ball bounced in A's front court is immaterial because Team A did not have possession then.

One player on defense loses his shoe while the offense is running a play. The Ref calls for play to stop so the player can put his shoe on. Seems to me he should have waited till the play was over. What do you say?

Asked by Mike over 11 years ago

The ref should stop the game right away if a player is injured or in imminent danger.  The ref can delay the play stoppage to allow the offensive team to complete a play if there is no immediate danger to any players.  The refs are also to stop play immediately if there is a vision issue such as lost contact lense or glasses knocked off someone's head.

In your situation, I would have let the offense finish the play - BUT if the offense was driving to the basket and then kicked the ball back out out to reset the play, I would have stopped the game, 

The player catches the ball under the basket with both feet planted. He then hops backwards landing on both feet and shoots the layup. is this a travel?

Asked by Coach Joe almost 10 years ago

As you describe it, it is traveling. If you catch the ball with both feet on the ground, when you lift one of the feet the other becomes the pivot. But if a player hops, neither foot is a pivot and it is traveling.

If a player stops his or her dribble and is off balance and ready to fall on the floor which would traveling and puts his or hers hand on the floor to prevent from flooring on the floor is that traveling

Asked by ernie liggett, sr almost 10 years ago

It is not traveling if a hand touches the floor as long as your feet have not violated the traveling rules. Any other part of your body (beside hands and feet) touching the floor while in control of the ball constitutes traveling.

Airborne player A-1 attempts a 3-point field goal. After returning to the floor B-1 fouls A-1. The try is unsuccessful. The official awards A-1 three free throws. Is the official correct?

Asked by mIKE almost 11 years ago

No. After returning to the floor the player is no longer in the act of shooting. It should be a non-shooting common foul.

When a player gets fouled but the coach sends another player to shoot the free throw?

Asked by Dave almost 10 years ago

Yes, the referees are in charge of designating who is entitled to shoot bonus or shooting fouls. Coaches designate who will shoot technicals.

As a best practice, when the foul calling official calls the foul, the nearest other official should come in and point to the shooter and verbalize, "I got the shooter". This is better than the other official saying, " the shooter is number XX" because to reporting official can get tangled up with the shooter and fouler's numbers.

Youth basketball (13-14) ball is in play & scorekeeper hits buzzer in error; some players continue the game (clock still running) & no whistle was blown. A basket is made & then the whistle blows & referee claims no basket. Was this a correct call?

Asked by Debbie almost 11 years ago

Players should play until a whistle is blown. In your scenario the refs made two mistakes: 1) if there is not an advantage by the team in possession when the buzzer sounded, they should blow the whistle and find out what the timekeeper wanted, and 2) once they let the game continue then they should count all activities until the whistle.