Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

The tackle box is the area that's from the left side offensive tackles to the right side OT and is 5 yards deep on the defense. My question is, if there's a defensive end aligned with an outside shade on the OT, would that still be considered the box

Asked by Bret over 8 years ago

It's based on the offensive formation, not where the defense is. The DE's position is irrelevant.

In the Cowboys Giants game the Giants threw a pass just past the 1st down mark and then was pushed back and fumbled the ball another Giant recovered short of the 1st why were the Giants awarded a 1st down?

Asked by lousulliva almost 8 years ago

Forward progress. The runner is entitled to what he earns. If he made the line to gain and then was pushed back, he gets what he gained - first down. The run ended at the forward progress mark. So the fact that he fumbled is moot.

What are the odds that all 8 division winners go 6-0 in division games?

Asked by Franklin almost 8 years ago

I don't know....what are they?

And what does that have to do with officiating?

can an offensive lineman be called for a block in the back when a rusher beats them to try and get to the quarterback

Asked by umpref15 almost 9 years ago

I will definitively say, maybe. If the lineman maintains contact with the rusher and the opponent ends up facing away from the blocker, then no. It's continuous action and the original contact - that was legal - is continuing. However, if the defender gets past him and contact is lost, and then the O lineman pushes him in the back, then yes it can be IBB.

On a kickoff, say the receiver catches the ball straddling the endzone, he hesitates, and here's the other team. He can't go fwd., he may get a safety, so he decides to throw the ball out of bounds. An illegal forward pass but they keep the ball?

Asked by Scott almost 8 years ago

Hey, coach! Tell your player to either catch it in the field of play or in the endzone. No indecision!!

Generally, officials will give the player the benefit of the doubt and say he's in the endzone. But if he is obviously straddling the line as you describe, he's caused all of us problems. It matters where the ball is, not the player. But if he throws it, he just screwed the pooch. If he throws it backwards, it's alive and the kicking team could recover it. If he throws it out of bounds backwards, it's a safety. If he throws it forward from the endzone, it's an illegal forward pass and the penalty is marked from the spot of the foul -- safety.

Yo, if the quarterback fumbles the ball behind the line of scrimmage, then for some reason, instead of recovering it or picking it up, he kicks it off the ground through the uprights, is that a field goal?

Asked by Zach about 8 years ago

Yo? Really?

No. What you describe is a foul. Intentionally kicking a ball - not a scrimmage kick - is a foul.

This is a question about the NFL. Is sack also counted as a tackle for loss? Meaning are they duplicate stat line or do they both show as a separate stat? I know tackles for loss are counted in the tackle stat but I'm not clear on sacks vs TFL. Thank

Asked by JB Steel over 7 years ago

Can't help you. That isnt a part of the playing rules, which on-field officials address. That's a stat question.