Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Grif Whalen calls a fair catch. The ball hits his facemask and bounces up. While the ball is in the air, is the defender allowed to grab it?

Asked by Rick over 7 years ago

Yes. As long as he doesn't impede the rrceiver's opportunity to catch.

I saw a recent NFL game where the punter tackled the punt returner. To what extent is it legal to block the punter? I recall a rule making the punter "protected," even when he's running downfield to possibly tackle the kick returner.

Asked by Bridgbum over 8 years ago

Once the punter has kicked and recovers and goes to be involved in the play (going after/tackling a runner) he's a player and is no different than any other player. Same with a QB after an interception. If the QB goes to tackle and participates in the play, he's fair game. If he just stands there, then you can't hit him.

This is a question about the NFL. Is sack also counted as a tackle for loss? Meaning are they duplicate stat line or do they both show as a separate stat? I know tackles for loss are counted in the tackle stat but I'm not clear on sacks vs TFL. Thank

Asked by JB Steel over 7 years ago

Can't help you. That isnt a part of the playing rules, which on-field officials address. That's a stat question.

I've been a Ram fan since 67,my question is why was the 1967 playoff game between the Los Angeles Rams and the Green Bay Packers played at Lambeau field instead of Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum? The Rams had a better record plus they beat the Packers

Asked by Roy H over 8 years ago

I'm anot official, not a football historian.

Why wasn't Arron Rogers penalized for not wearing his chin strap in the playoff game against the Cowboys

Asked by oleman74 over 8 years ago

Probably because no one saw it.

If an offensive and defensive player catch the football together and hit the ground but one player gets up with the ball who gets credit for the catch

Asked by Cdk almost 8 years ago

We'll only talk highvschool or college here. Simultaneous catches or recoveries go to the offense. When you say "hit the ground" you need to clarify. Catching off the ground and then returning and touching the ground with their feet? Or bodies going to the ground where the players are grounded ending the play? If they come to the ground on their feet in "joint possession", it's still a live ball and they can fight it out. If they go to the ground in joint possession, it's the offense's ball.

Green Bay RB fumbles football. Atlanta DB recovers ball at own 1 yard line. Untouched, he rolls backwards into his own end zone. Ruled a touchback. Atlanta gets ball at their own 20. Is this correct call?

Asked by Jack Rothell over 8 years ago

He wasn't touched by an opponent until he was in EZ. It looked like as he was recovering, he rolled into the endzone where he was downed. I didn't think he had control/possession until the endzone. Yes, I agree that was the right call.