Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If a team was punting out of their own endzone, and the punter muffed the kick straight up and a person on the opposition called a fair catch in the endzone would it be a touchdown. Also if they interfered with the fair catch would it be a touchdown?

Asked by Erik over 7 years ago

Let's correct a term first. The punter can't muff the kick. What I think you're saying is the punter kicked the ball straight up in the air. If the ball was still in the endzone, that means the kick never crossed the line of scrimmage. And that means you can't call for a fair catch. If the receiving team has possession in that endzone, you have a touchdown.

Yo, if the quarterback fumbles the ball behind the line of scrimmage, then for some reason, instead of recovering it or picking it up, he kicks it off the ground through the uprights, is that a field goal?

Asked by Zach over 7 years ago

Yo? Really?

No. What you describe is a foul. Intentionally kicking a ball - not a scrimmage kick - is a foul.

On a kickoff, say the receiver catches the ball straddling the endzone, he hesitates, and here's the other team. He can't go fwd., he may get a safety, so he decides to throw the ball out of bounds. An illegal forward pass but they keep the ball?

Asked by Scott about 7 years ago

Hey, coach! Tell your player to either catch it in the field of play or in the endzone. No indecision!!

Generally, officials will give the player the benefit of the doubt and say he's in the endzone. But if he is obviously straddling the line as you describe, he's caused all of us problems. It matters where the ball is, not the player. But if he throws it, he just screwed the pooch. If he throws it backwards, it's alive and the kicking team could recover it. If he throws it out of bounds backwards, it's a safety. If he throws it forward from the endzone, it's an illegal forward pass and the penalty is marked from the spot of the foul -- safety.

Question on HS kickoff rules. If a kickoff is popped into the air (doesn't hit the ground) the receiving team can fair catch the ball. The kicking team cannot advance the ball if they recover, but can the kicking team catch the ball out air?

Asked by HSCoach over 7 years ago

Kicking cannot legally touch tbe ball until it has gone 10 yards. Yes, they can cat h it in the air but they are also subject to kick catch interference rules. The receivers can call for a fair catch.

In the Cowboys Giants game the Giants threw a pass just past the 1st down mark and then was pushed back and fumbled the ball another Giant recovered short of the 1st why were the Giants awarded a 1st down?

Asked by lousulliva over 7 years ago

Forward progress. The runner is entitled to what he earns. If he made the line to gain and then was pushed back, he gets what he gained - first down. The run ended at the forward progress mark. So the fact that he fumbled is moot.

Upon the flagging for "unsportsmanlike" conduct, why is the "initial" call not enforced when two opposing players are flagged?

Asked by Darius over 7 years ago

I'm not sure what you mean.

2 extra point questions:
After touchdown team decides to go for 2 points. T make it but incur holding penalty. Back 10 yards can they now chgange to 1 point kick??
2 - Decision to go for 2 but get up to line calls time out. can they now go for 1?

Asked by Bill Miller over 6 years ago

Yes and yes. A PAT is a scrimmage play and, as with any play from scrimmage, you can call any play you want. A PAT is a scrimmage kick and, as on a punt (another scrimmage kick) you can change your mind after s penalty.