Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
With one second remaining, a "recovery" sort of implies the receiver was either catching it and goibg to tbe ground or on the ground at the recovery. On a legal touch, the clock winds. So if the foul occured after the reception, it happened after the clock expired. The period (game?) is over.
Yes. The touch by K is - depending on the level - first touching or illegal touching. The ball is,still alive, but R can take the ball at the spot of the touch.
Well, based on what we saw on the Giants-Packers game, no. My understanding on other levels is if a player (ball carrier) comes on contact with something or someone out of bounds, then he is out of bounds. But...
If the offense has substituted, the defense has to be given an opportunity to "match up". There are limits in time, but the D has to have the chance. If the defense doesn't sub immediately, the official moves off the ball. When you see an official with his arms out to the side ("iron cross") they are in that time frame allowing the defense to sub.
Suicide Hotline Manager
Has anyone killed themselves during a call?
CrossFit Coach
Are Crossfit gyms profitable right out of the gate?
Cruise Ship Officer
Is the "women and children first" rule still in effect?
Let's correct a term first. The punter can't muff the kick. What I think you're saying is the punter kicked the ball straight up in the air. If the ball was still in the endzone, that means the kick never crossed the line of scrimmage. And that means you can't call for a fair catch. If the receiving team has possession in that endzone, you have a touchdown.
I always said that if you could penalize for stupidity, there would be no game - it would take too long for all the penalty enforcements.
It was a personal foul - maybe unsportsmanlike? - but still just 15 yards. Could you call it flagrant and DQ the guy? Maybe, but would they? And especially at that point in the game? You could have called it all the things you said, although "targeting" has a specific definition that may not apply here. Regardless, you can't get blood from a stone, so PF is pretty much it.
If a pass does not cross the line of scrimmage (screen) then a) you can't have ineligibles down field and b) you can't have pass interference (offense or defense). In the NFL, they are tighter with lineman, only giving them a yard downfield to block on passes behind the LOS. So, yes, receivers downfield can block before the pass is thrown as long as the pass was caught behind the LOS.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)