Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Why doesn't the Miami/Bulls game have any pink ribbon on field or on themselves?

Asked by Ka almost 9 years ago

That is,a league/ team issue, not officiating.

In the game tonight, Cam was taken down behind the line of scrimmage, why isn’t that recorded as a Sack?

Asked by Setty almost 8 years ago

Officials don't deal with statistics so I can't answer definitively. If it was,a "dezigned" run from thecstaff, then he's a runner, not a passer, hence no sack (?).

Has there ever been an NFL fame where they did not kick a field go when they were in field goal range and it was almost halftime?

Asked by Sean Duong over 8 years ago

Sorry, this isn't a trivia or history site.

Can a receiving team advance a punt after it has been touched by a kicking team

Asked by Bart S almost 9 years ago

Yes. The touch by K is - depending on the level - first touching or illegal touching. The ball is,still alive, but R can take the ball at the spot of the touch.

Why is a quarterback not charged for "intentional grounding" when he spikes the ball?

Asked by Les over 8 years ago

The rules allow the player who "first controls the snap" to immediately throw it to the ground without being called for grounding.

In the NFL if a player possesses the ball and a teammate standing partially out of bounds contacts him is the ball considered out of bounds?

Asked by Ron over 8 years ago

Well, based on what we saw on the Giants-Packers game, no. My understanding on other levels is if a player (ball carrier) comes on contact with something or someone out of bounds, then he is out of bounds. But...

this question pertains to the seahawks/packers game on 9/10/2017. in the 4th quarter onthe final drive, with 3:09 remaining, the packers were assessed an unnecessary roughness penalty (15yds) yet next play was a 1st & 10 - shouldn't it be 1st & 25?

Asked by chezcarson almost 8 years ago

While I didn't see the game, this is probably what happened. It's the same as in college football where if there is a foul, in this case a personal foul, between downs and before the chains have been set with the new line to gain, the penalty is enforced and then the chains are set. So it is, in fact, first and 10.