Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

I currently coach WR and DB, can you help me with the rules for WRs on cut blocks?

Asked by matt about 8 years ago

Can someone help me? I'm guessing you're a college coach since low blocks are prohibited in high school. The rules have changed a number of times over the last several years and each time they do, there's a new "wrinkle"....or crease.

Can't possibly do it justice or be complete here, but blocks need to be in the "10 to 2" (o'clock) range as viewed by the blocker. But this year it was interpreted that the initial contact has to be from that direction. In other words, even if the hit is in the 10-2 area, the "attack" by the blocker has to be within that arc when initiated. Clear? Yeah, me neither. With wide receivers, they must - since they are initially outside the tackle box - either block above the waist or attack the 10-2 zone and initiate the attack from that direction. It's challenging to explain without visuals. That may be as good as I can get it - sorry.

Imy belief forward progress is given if the ball carrier is forced backwards by defense, not if he goes back on own. In gb dal gm. 4th & 1 zeke reached the ball out to the 1st dn marker & pulled it back on his own. Hows that fwd prog. Whistle after

Asked by John p about 8 years ago

I believe all levels of football rules are pretty much in agreement on this. The NCAA rule book states: "Forward progress is a term indicating the end of advancement by the ball carrier or airborne pass receiver of either team and applies to the position of the ball when it becomes dead by rule."

The ball was held out and then the whistle blew. The ball was at a certain position - where Elliott had held it out - and that was where it was determined to have been when the runner's progress ended. It isn't much different from a ball carrier extending the ball over the goal line and then being pushed back; touchdown. Position of the ball.

Team A is on 4th and 10 and punts, Team B receives and while returning fumbles and team A recovers. Who would have the next set of downs?

Asked by Ron almost 8 years ago

Sometimes you folks ask a question that makes me think. This one, though, is too easy. As with any time in the game, when one team fumbles and the other recovers, it belongs to the recovering team. Here, it's 1st and 10 for A.

Why wasn't Arron Rogers penalized for not wearing his chin strap in the playoff game against the Cowboys

Asked by oleman74 over 8 years ago

Probably because no one saw it.

If a defensive player jumps over the line and gets back not heading towards the quarterback is the play blown dead? I have watched to different games. One game they blew every offside dead, but another game they left the play continue. What is right?

Asked by Nancy Tickler about 7 years ago

Depends what you're watching. In high school, the play us dead and defense offsides us enforced. In NCAA and NFL the defender can get back before the snap. There are times when even when the player isn't threatening the QB the play is stopped. Rule of thumb: if the defender is past the shoulder of an offensive player, they'll blow it dead.

Green Bay RB fumbles football. Atlanta DB recovers ball at own 1 yard line. Untouched, he rolls backwards into his own end zone. Ruled a touchback. Atlanta gets ball at their own 20. Is this correct call?

Asked by Jack Rothell over 8 years ago

He wasn't touched by an opponent until he was in EZ. It looked like as he was recovering, he rolled into the endzone where he was downed. I didn't think he had control/possession until the endzone. Yes, I agree that was the right call.

Does the execution of a snap supercede a timeout whistle, blown very slightly after the snap? Should the result of the play count? Can officials deny the timeout request, if not given time to communicate the timeout before the snap?

Asked by grizrule almost 7 years ago

You're asking questions of philosophy, something that isn't in the rule book. First, it depends who is calling the timeout, offense or defense. The defense often waits to the last second to call it in order to "ice" the kicker. But if the snap is in the process of going off, it is possible for the timeout to not be granted. You ask about the whistle blowing "very slightly" after the snap; that probably means it was asked for prior to the snap. When you see the snap go and the kick made as whistles are being blown, the timeout was granted prior to the snap - the kick will not count. Usually, for the offense the timeout is granted.