Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In the NFL If a player intercepts a 2 pt conversion pass in the end zone and attempts to run it back, crosses the goal line and then backs back into the end zone and gets tackled, is it a safety?

Asked by Jimbadger52 about 10 years ago

To the best of my knowledge, only in college can you run back a missed 2 pt conversion as you describe. In college, that is a safety.

When a straight arm involves the offense player using the defender's face mail, why isn't that a personal foul?

Asked by Tris Dammin about 10 years ago

It could be. It is a matter of interpretation and judgment by the official. A push off is likely okay. A grab and twist? Then it is no different than any other face mask call.

1.What is the most important piece of equipment you use as a referee?

Asked by Jack over 9 years ago

Odd question. Most of our equipment is simply clothing. Good shoes help. But the most important thing you take onto the field is your brain.

Do you know when the team logos were added the NFL footballs?

Asked by Gward3 over 10 years ago

No. And I didn't know they were.

In college football can a player from the sideline run down the field with the players on the field in celebration when the team is about to score a touchdown and there is no time left on the clock

Asked by Yolanda about 10 years ago

Technically, no. But the foul would be enforced as a dead ball after the play. In that case (Duke-FSU), the game was over when the foul would be enforced.

Why are the pylons out-of bounds but is called TD if touched-look where they are.

Asked by pschamplin about 10 years ago

Why, in soccer, is the sideline inbounds? It's the definition. The pylons are not out of bounds; they are part of the goal line "extended". When the ball, while being carried, hits one, it is breaking the plane of the goal. Like wise, if the ball is carried outside the pylon but the player touches the pylon, it is a touchdown since the ball has crossed the goal line "extended".

Is this hit legal or illegal ? and do you think whether this hit malicious or not ? Thank you so much. We don't know he get penalty.

Here is the video link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h4h7zoj6km3tune/M2U00328.MPG?dl=0

Asked by sberber@etu.edu.tr over 10 years ago

If you're talking about the low block by the wide receiver to the lower left of the screen, it looks okay for college.