Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
I'm guessing you're talking about the wideout on the left side of the formation, though you don't say. I'm also not sure if this is a high school or college game. There was nothing that I could see on the runner. The wideout on the left cuts low on the defender. It is, in my opinion, a hit on what could be considered a defenseless player - the play is over when the block is made so that would cause the penalty.
I can't answer that - I did not see it. Sorry
Unless I'm really screwing this up - always a possibility - it's a touchback. The status of the ball is that it is still a kick, even though it touched a receiver. In high school and college, a grounded kick in he endzone is a touchback. If it was receovered by the kickers in the field of play (between the goal lines), then it would be K's ball.
As I answered in another question about this play....Legal. If he went up to catch a high snap, he can still return to hold the snap. He could also throw as you describe. If he stands (for no other reason than he wants to) and then returns to the ground, he is down. Dead ball.
Birthday Party Clown
Bracketologist
Casino Dealer
I don't think anyone is looser. The rules are the rules, and at both levels officials are graded. There are officiating philosophies that most fans aren't aware of, and that might lend itself to people thinking someone is letting a player "get away" with something. Officials are following the directives of their supervisors. I suppose if a supervisor had the attitude of "let'em play", there might be a more loose game. But I don't know of any like that.
NFL rules are different but generally, if the foul is behind the "basic spot" (the end of the run) it's marked off from the spot of the foul.
Everybody grabs the opponent's jersey. It's what you do after that that makes a difference. If you pull the player down with a handful of jersey, or you grab and turn the player, you're holding. Grabbing a jersey and driving the man straight ahead? No issue. Two men doing grabbing? Philosophically the offense has committed two players to block one -- who is really at a disadvantage?
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)