Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Do they officiate differently in college than they do in nfl

Asked by Ryan about 10 years ago

That's too broad a question - can you narrow it or clarify it?

The QB throws the ball to a receiver but backwards, then the receiver throws the ball back to the QB, then the QB is pressured and throws the ball away. Can there be Intentional Grounding??

Asked by Caleb over 9 years ago

A couple of things. First, if the throw back to the QB is forward, then the QB can't throw it forward regardless of the situation. That would be a second forward pass and that is illegal. Second, the only person who has the right to throw the ball away legally is the person who controls the snap, the initial snap or backward pass. The QB no longer has the right to throw it away. So, yes.

When the punting team keeps the ball from going into the end zone, can a player from the receiving team advance the ball?

Asked by Catch 22 over 9 years ago

No. It is still a kick - by definition - and K cannot advance it.

How can the field goal holder make a forward pass with his knee on the ground?

Asked by Rpwashington almost 10 years ago

Because the rules say he can. And he's the only one. A holder can go up off his knee to get a high snap and bring it down for the hold. Likewise, the fact that he's on the ground when he gets the snap would normally make the ball dead. The holder has special rules (college).

Is this hit legal or illegal ? and do you think whether this hit malicious or not ? Thank you so much. We don't know he get penalty.

Here is the video link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h4h7zoj6km3tune/M2U00328.MPG?dl=0

Asked by sberber@etu.edu.tr over 10 years ago

I'm guessing you're talking about the wideout on the left side of the formation, though you don't say. I'm also not sure if this is a high school or college game. There was nothing that I could see on the runner. The wideout on the left cuts low on the defender. It is, in my opinion, a hit on what could be considered a defenseless player - the play is over when the block is made so that would cause the penalty.

my team has the ball on the 4 yard going in to score We need 3.5 yards for a first down and 4 yards for a td. It is 4 th down and the defense gets an encroachment call what should happen. What down should it be

Asked by jared almost 10 years ago

Ball can't be moved more than half the distance so.....

4th and 1 1/2 from the 2

In last weeks FL LSU game, the kick holder throws a pass from a 'kneeling' position. Legal or not? His knee was down.

Asked by Henry over 9 years ago

As I answered in another question about this play....Legal. If he went up to catch a high snap, he can still return to hold the snap. He could also throw as you describe. If he stands (for no other reason than he wants to) and then returns to the ground, he is down. Dead ball.