Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

When a QB is behind the line of scrimmage, when is it considered a sack to a minus rushing attempt?

Asked by Turk over 10 years ago

That's a statistical issue, which officials don't really deal with.  My personal understanding is that sacks are rushing attempts.

The NFL rule book says only 1 penalty can be enforced per play.
The exception being if touching a ref is one of them. How did the Bengals get two 15 yard penalties on 1 play? One for defenseless receiver and one unsportsmanlike conduct for 30 yards

Asked by Kashman100 about 9 years ago

Th defenseless player call is a live ball foul, that is, during the play. The unsportsmanlike would probably have been a dead ball foul. after the play is over. You can enforce a live ball and a dead ball foul.

Does a college football coach have the option of declining a "running into the punter" penalty and simply accept the result of his team's punt?

Asked by LaVerne over 10 years ago

Technically, you can decline any penalty. Running into is a five yard penalty. I've seen that often. If you don't get a first down with five yards and it was a great punt, flip the field and decline the penalty.

If 2 penalties on defense such as off sides and pass interferences which one is called it doesn't matter if flag was thrown first for off sides

Asked by Rick over 10 years ago

You can't enforce two live ball fouls against the same team as you describe it.  In this case, you decline the off side foul and accept the more serious/significant DPI.

We want to try a drop kick as an extra point.
What is it worth? 1 or 2 points
Do you have to declare that you are going for 1 or 2?
Any other things to consider?

Asked by Drew Akin over 9 years ago

A kick for an extra point is worth 1 point. At least in HS and college. Declaring isn't necessary. For example, if a team lines up for a PAT kick, they can still fake it and run for 2.

Why was the pass that was challenged in the Michigan/Rutgers game ruled incomplete

Asked by Bob over 10 years ago

Don't know.  From a "source", the replay people had no qualms about saying no catch once they saw the ball on the ground.  On the field, it was ruled differently by the two officials on that sideline.  It was "interesting".

Can multiple players wear the same number as long as they are not on the field at the same time and as long as they play within the jersey number allowed for that position. In other words can an offense have two #80 WRs that would rotate in and out

Asked by Bravovictor about 11 years ago

You had a yes answer until you threw in that last line.  I'm going to deal with NCAA rules.  Rule 1-4-2-e reads: Two players playing the same position may not wear the same number during the game. [Italics added] The obvious reason is deception and unsportsmanlike activity.  You could, in theory, have a #80 playing WR and also have an 80 at defensive end.  To take it one step further, if you do have two 80's, for example, they cannot be in the gane at the same time.