Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

a player tried to block my shot, too far away so he lowered into my face. I told him it was cheap and a tech foul. He said not if I was shooting and he "tried" to block my shot. I said didnt matter, face guarding is face guarding shooting or not.

Asked by Darcy over 9 years ago

Rule 10, section 3, which delineates player technical fouls, Article 6d, "A player shall not commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to purposely obstructing an opponent's vision by waiving or placing hands near his/her eyes."

What's the rules for a coach to talk to a ref in the middle of the game and the ref is talking back

Asked by Sheryll Woolsey over 9 years ago

A ref cannot listen to a coach and do his job while a game is being played. So a ref should not respond during live balls. On the first dead ball i would approach the coach, listen to what the issue is, resolve it if legitimate, and explain that I will not listen or be interupted during live balls. If he insists on communicating while i have in game responsibilities i will consider it unsportsmanlike.

I've seen players pass to a teammate who establishes himself out of bounds on the baseline. Can this occur ONLY after made baskets, ONLY under your own basket, or is this even allowed when inbounding under your opponents basket?

Asked by Philip over 9 years ago

This play is only valid after a made basket or after a time out after a made basket. 

It is not allowed on a spot throw in because the spot is defined by a 3 foot wide area. On a spot throw in, as soon as the original player hands or throws it to an out of bounds player it is a violation.

With the new rule in high school basketball with free throws, it is a violation to break the plane of the freethrow line before the ball makes contact, if you also foul the shooter at the same time do you enforce both the lane violation and the foul

Asked by Bob over 9 years ago

I believe the new rule (added in 2014-2015) allows players lined up along the free throw lane to break the plane as soon as the ball is released (like the NBA). If a defender violates it is a delayed violation (live ball) and so you would enforce the subsequent foul. However, if a lane violation is committed by a teammate of the shooter, the ball is dead and any subsequent unintentional fouls are not enforced.

the other team has 5 team fouls and fouls one of are players after the call a double tech is called 1 on each team do we still keep the ball or does it go to alternate possesion

Asked by murph over 8 years ago

It goes to the possession arrow.

Do you think 3 second rule should be abandoned like palming and traveling? Would it change the game?

Asked by srkaren10587@msn.com about 9 years ago

No, it should be called only when it affects the outcome. By the way, travelling and palming (carrying the ball) are still violations.

Player from Team A outleaps player from Team B at the tipoff. While he is the 1st to the ball, player from Team A tips it to Team B who controls possession. Who gets the ball next jump ball? (NCAA rules)

Asked by Philip about 9 years ago

Ok. First there is no possession on the tip. So player A1 (jumper) tips the ball - no possession. Then, the ball comes to A2 who tips the ball to B1.  

If A2 tipped the ball in a controlled manner, then A2 had possession and the arrow is set to team B.  If A2 did not control the ball when A2 tipped it, then team B got the first possession and the arrow is set to team A.