Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Team A shoots their second of 2 free throws. Makes it but ref calls lane violation on team b. Does team A get another free throw or is it team B's ball and play on. I had a ref give us another free throw and I'm pretty sure he's wrong.

Asked by Riley over 9 years ago

The ref should extend his arm sraight from the shoulder indicating a delayed call. If the free throw goes in, ignore the violation. If the free throw does not go in , then reshoot the free throw.

Player A gets two technicals for delay of game. Is he ejected?

Asked by Kevin almost 10 years ago

delay of game are team technicals, not attributed to a player. They do count toward the bonus

at the start of a game the referee had the players going the wrong way, Team a got the ball and scored in what should have been team b basket. what is the correct call for this

Asked by Dave over 9 years ago

Team A gets to keep the scored baskets. Turn the players around to the correct direction and resume play.

A player drives hard to the basket. He puts his shoulder in the defender chest, jumps up and score. The collision and the shot is almost at the same time. The referee calls for an offensive foul, the ball is in the air. Does the basket still counts?

Asked by Max over 9 years ago

No. In NFHS rules, a basket cannot count if an offensive foul is called on the shooter.

You are dribbling and then grab the ball with two hands and then drop it and then pick it up. Is that legal?

Asked by action jackson about 9 years ago

Yes. If it is a legit fumble.

In tonight's Vandy/Wichita NCAA tourney game, a technical foul was called on the Vandy coach for protesting a non-foul call on a shot one of his players just made. Wichita State was awarded 2 ft's, but the ball was then given to Vandy. Why?

Asked by Brian Zdanowski over 9 years ago

NCAA has a list of technicals and penalties. In NFHS rules all technicals are 2 free throws plus ball, at the mid court line. NCAA is point of interruption. It is confusing.

I've seen players pass to a teammate who establishes himself out of bounds on the baseline. Can this occur ONLY after made baskets, ONLY under your own basket, or is this even allowed when inbounding under your opponents basket?

Asked by Philip over 9 years ago

This play is only valid after a made basket or after a time out after a made basket. 

It is not allowed on a spot throw in because the spot is defined by a 3 foot wide area. On a spot throw in, as soon as the original player hands or throws it to an out of bounds player it is a violation.