Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
If you obtained legal guarding position and you were dislodged off your spot by an opponent it is a team control foul on your opponent's team.
Yes as long as the shot leaves the shooter's hand before time expires.
If two fouls of the same kind occur simultaneously by opposite teams the free throws offset and are not shot. In your example the fouls are different and are administered as they occurred. So clear the lanes, shoot the one and one. Go to the other end and shoot the 2 Ts. Ball out of bounds at half court.
There is no prohibition against bouncing a ball off an opponent. EXCEPT if the ball is thrown maliciously and then it would be an unsportsmanlike technical foul. Referee's judgement as to what severity would cross the line.
Starbucks Barista
If a homeless person wants to use your bathroom, are you supposed to stop him?
Aircraft Mechanic
Did you ever catch something critical right before a plane was about to take off?
Auto Mechanic
If I know nothing about cars, how can I tell if a mechanic is ripping me off?
A two handed bounce is double dribble. So is dribbling a second time after holding the ball. Both are violations.
The referee is considered part of the floor, so if the player catches the ball with 2 hands after dribbling and bouncing off a referee, it is double dribble.
If this was not the rule then the following could happen:
if a player was trapped with an official nearby, he could bounce the ball off the official and get a new dribble. This is not the intention, so the referee is part of the floor, and a player DOES NOT get a new dribble after bouncing off the ref.
You need to establish front court possession before you can have a back court violation. Answer is no.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)