Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

if a player shoots a 3 pointer & the ball is in the air at the buzzer, does it count?

Asked by fafa over 10 years ago

Yes as long as the shot leaves the shooter's hand before time expires.

A dribbling player loose control of the ball and hits the referee. He catches the ball with two hands and continues to dribble. Is this a traveling violation?

Asked by Max over 10 years ago

The referee is considered part of the floor, so if the player catches the ball with 2 hands after dribbling and bouncing off a referee, it is double dribble.  

If this was not the rule then the following could happen:

if a player was trapped with an official nearby, he could bounce the ball off the official and get a new dribble. This is not the intention, so the referee is part of the floor, and a player DOES NOT get a new dribble after bouncing off the ref.

Another Backcourt question:- Once front court status is achieved. Team A passes to teammate, but hits the hand of team B (Defense) and then hits the hand of team A's teammate and goes backcourt. (neither team a or team b's player is in "control")

Asked by MJ about 11 years ago

Team control ends when there is a try or tip, an opponent secures control, or the ball becomes dead.  Hitting the hand of player B does not constitute control so I would say if the ball is picked up by team a in the backcourt it is a violation.

Why do we tell players to hold their spot or that they can run the endline on throw in.

Is it in our manual to INSTRUCT them on throw ins?

Asked by luvjoy over 10 years ago

Most instructors will tell you that indicating a spot or a runner throw in to both the offense and defense is good, solid preventative officiating so that if there is a thrown violation neither team can complain about a misunderstanding.

To my knowledge this mechanic is NOT in the official's manual.

Shot clock doesn't do it--have you been watching any of this year NCAA Championship matches? what a mess, teams foul even with 15 sec left and down 10. However, most box scores for college and pros show the team that makes free throws wins.

Asked by daveb over 11 years ago

ok.

Rndballref,

I need your help on the dreaded block/charge call. If a defender is set, but allows the collision to be violent by holding his ground is this an automatic block? I have someone trying to take charges as if they are setting a screen.

Asked by Bball Right about 10 years ago

A defender has every right to hold his ground as long as he obtains the position legally. He has NO obligation to give ground or soften a collision once he obtains initial legal guarding position.

If a player get foul and its one n one bonus free throws but before the player shoot the free throw the bench of the team shooting free throws gets a technical. ...how that situation works?

Asked by Daniel over 11 years ago

If two fouls of the same kind occur simultaneously by opposite teams the free throws offset and are not shot.  In your example the fouls are different and are administered as they occurred.  So clear the lanes, shoot the one and one. Go to the other end and shoot the 2 Ts.  Ball out of bounds at half court.