Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

DIAGONAL DIVE DROP STEP... how is this move NOT a travel? both feet move before the shot is taken

2:35 of the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ef2sY59Ko8k

Asked by mike w almost 10 years ago

OK, here is what I saw. He gets the ball while both feet are planted. So either foot can be the pivot foot. He lifts up his left foot which makes his right foot his pivot foot. he then steps onto his left foot and lifts his right foot. At this point he cannot move or slide his left foot nor can he touch the right foot on the floor. From here he must shoot or pass. Looks to me like a legitimate basketball move and no violation.

It is hard to understand this fact about traveling: it is not illegal to lift your pivot foot per se. If you could not lift your pivot foot how could you ever shoot a traditional layup?

Team A is taking the ball out of bounds after Team B has scored. Team B is pressing. A player for Team B loses his shoe. Can and should the referee blow the play dead until the player from Team B can put his show back on without possession of ball.

Asked by Mfg over 10 years ago

The referee is supposed to stop play for any immediate danger to a player or eyeglasses and/or contact lens becoming broken or dislodged.  

If a player is injured but not in immediate danger and the other team has the ball, the offensive team is allowed to complete the play (finish a drive to the basket, run an attack play). As soon as the offense backs out the ball or stops progressing to a play the ref should stop play to allow the injured player to be tended to.

In a recent college game an offensive player receives a pass and he is standing inside of the three point line. Without dribbling he steps back behind the three point line sets his feet and shoots the ball. How is that not traveling?

Asked by Dean444444 over 10 years ago

Was it the Michigan State player? If it is the play I was looking at it was a close call, but I probably would have called traveling.  

So here is the play: A player catches the ball with both feet in the air. Going backwards the left foot comes down first (it will be the pivot). Then the right foot comes down beyond the 3 point arc. He lifts the left (pivot) foot. At this point he is ok if he alights or stays on the right foot and then passes or shoots. As soon as his left foot touches the floor or he hops on his right it is traveling.

White has alternating possession arrow. Following a held ball, black flagrantly fouls white. Technical free throws and possession are awarded. Who now has possession arrow? I'm assuming white.

Asked by Rob over 10 years ago

Correct. The possession was never given to white so the arrow still stays white.

I just found out of this rule when I was watching the CLE vs BKN game. What exactly is a showboating foul ?

Asked by MadFaker7 over 10 years ago

I searched through the NBA rulebook and could not find a foul called "showboating". There is a broad definition of unsportsmanlike conduct, but nothing specifically called show boating.

player is out of bounds player in bounds throws the ball and hits the player out of bounds who's ball is it

Asked by peanut over 9 years ago

If player A1 is in bounds and throws the ball which hits out of bounds player B1 the throw in is awarded to team A.

Logos, markings, lettering, etc., are prohibited on the backboard, but are permitted on the backboard padding and basket.

Asked by John Johnson over 10 years ago

Unless it has been changed most recently the rule book states, "No logo, marking, lettering, etc. is permitted on the backboard, backboard padding, or basket."