Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

If an offensive player jumps sideways for a layup or shot and the defensive player jumps to defend him and makes contact in the air, who's foul is it?

Asked by Billy almost 10 years ago

If neither player is entitled to the air space where they collide, it should be treated as incidental contact, regardless of the severity of the impact.

When entering a ball from the side at half court can the player I bounding move side to side.

Asked by Jcush about 10 years ago

On a spot throw in (as opposed to a throw in after a basket), the in-bounder is required have at least one foot on or above (if jumping) a 3 foot wide area parallel to the boundry line. This same in-bounder can move away from the court until he hits the bleachers, wall or any other obstruction in a perpendicular area to the boundry line as long as he stays within the 3 foot wide area.

Also note that during a throw-in, the in-bounder cannot be called for traveling - that is he can move within the 3 foot area without dribbling.

I see a lot of confusion around "3 in the key" in offense, I'd like to clarify the rule, especially when the ball is shot and players are rebounding. Can a player, who would otherwise be called for 3 seconds, stay in the key after the ball is shot?

Asked by AussieRef about 11 years ago

Once the shot is released the 3 second restrictions are lifted. It is ok for a late whistle to call 3 seconds after the shot goes up IF the violation happened before the shot, and the official is just late in calling it. But it is an error if part of the 3 second violation occurs including time after the shot is released. The restrictions start again after the offensive team obtains team control with the ball in the front court.

It is also possible to be legally in the paint for 5 seconds with the ball. Here is how: a player catches the ball in the paint. You are counting 1, 2 . Before you get to three, the player dribbles toward the basket. You restart the count. If the player drives directly and shoots before the new 3 seconds then it is a legal play. If the dribbler reverses directions or stops, then it is three seconds.

3 seconds at the varsity level is a good example of preventive officiating. When a player is camped out in the lane, I want to warn him to move out a couple times unless he has gained the ball or a big rebounding advantage. "Move out, or keep moving out of the paint". After a couple warnings, then call it constantly. In my experience, the higher quality players need 3 seconds called rarely, whereas in middle school you need to call it regularly.

When I was in college in the early 80s we played some games in Norway. At that time did international rules allow the in-bounding player to shoot from out of bounds or do I remember that incorrectly?

Asked by old school almost 10 years ago

I am not sure about international rules and it does not seem like an in bounder can shoot from out of bounds. I have seen international basketball where the in bounder can retrieve the ball and throw it in without the referee touching the ball. I actually like that way for inbounding after violations because it makes the defense hustle (kind of like a throw in in soccer).

If a player rebounds the ball and comes down with the ball and loses balance so that he touches the ground with the ball but does not dribble - is that considered a dribble so that he cannot dribble after that?

Asked by Coach Hoops almost 11 years ago

If the player comes down with both hands on the ball it is double dribble. If the player has only one hand on top of the ball it is a dribble and he cannot dribble again.

Ball inbounded under offensive basket - thrown towards the backcourt where an offensive player touches (doesnt control) before going over half court line - is this backcourt violation?

Asked by webstone almost 11 years ago

You need to establish front court possession before you can have a back court violation. Answer is no.

What's the call when a shot is taken, hits the rim, bounces into or lands in the back court and is first touched by someone from the team that made the shot? Free ball or violation?

Asked by lrwindy about 11 years ago

Team control ends when the ball is in flight on a try or tap for a goal. Since there is no team control, there is no backcourt violation. Play on...