Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
You can hop, skip or jump in the middle of a dribble as long as you dont palm the ball or double dribble.
The rulebook says that the count starts when the ball is at the throw in team's disposal.
In high school rules unless there is excessive contact beyond wrapping up the player, it would be an intentional foul which imposes 2 free throws plus a throw in.
In NFHS rules, if you are not dribbling and your knee touches the ground it is travelling.
Border Patrol Agent
Chef
Starbucks Barista
No violation.
At a point nearest to the violation.
If player b stepped in first it is a delayed violation and player a is awarded another throw. If player b did not step in before it was clear the ball would not touch the ring then no violation. The answer to your question is entirely bssed on whether b violated. If b did not violate, then b gets the ball. If b violated then a gets another free throw, regardless of whether the free throw is an air ball.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)