Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Can the player who saved the ball from going Out of bounds be the first player to touch it when he comes back in bounds

Asked by Tim almost 9 years ago

The rule prohibits a player from voluntarily leaving the court. so if the player went out of bounds purposely to get around a defender it is a violation. If however the player jumped to save the ball and landed out of bounds, he may step back in and gain control of the ball. He cannot pick up the ball and dribble, because throwing the ball while saving it constitutes the start of a dribble.

Is there a time frame that a Coach has to sit down after getting an unsportsmanlike technical foul? This is in a Varsity Boys Basketball game.
Coach gets a 'T' the official walks away and his partner tries to get him to sit down. How long do we wait

Asked by Mole the Ref about 8 years ago

It should never get to this but, after a minute or two the coach should be advised that he is risking a second direct technical foul and if he refuses to sit down, he will be ejected from the gym along with that foul.

There is no time specified, but give him a moment to calm down and comply, and if necessary then t him up.

2 Questions About Inbounds Location:
1) After an intentional foul, is the ball inbounded at half court every time or at the spot of the foul?
2) On an over and back call, is it inbounded where it is touched or always at half court?
Thanks!

Asked by Bryce over 8 years ago

In both cases, nearest spot where the foul/violation occurred.

is it legal in a "step through" move to pivot and then step with non pivot foot while lifting your pivot foot to then jump off your non pivot foot towards the goal to shoot?? Ive heard people say you have to jump off both feet or its travel.

Asked by maxstarr over 8 years ago

Yes legal.

Player received his 5th foul. The team huddles for the allotted 20 seconds. Officials weren't alerted and gave the ball to the fouled player who shoots a free throw. They then take the free throw away and require re-shooting. Correctable error?

Asked by Darrell over 8 years ago

They should not have taken the free throw away. It is not a correctable error.

There was a question from years ago regarding how many players are required to play? You said down to 2 but that is incorrect.. down to 1 if in official's mind that team still has a chance to win! Throw in would have to deflect off another player.

Asked by TechGuy over 8 years ago

Right from the NFHS rule book, "When there is only one player participating, the team shall forfeit the game, unless the referee believes that the team has an opportunity to win the game."

So it is possible to play down to one player, but entirely impractical. The other team, after scoring would simply move to the half court line and wait for 5 second throw in violations, or they would surround the ball and make the lone player foul. If I were refine the game I would call forfeit unless there was a sizable lead and little time left for the other team to catch up.

If the ball is fixing to go out of bounds and my opponent tries to throw it off my leg wouldn't it be out of bounds on my opponent if I step out of bounds and become part of the out of bounds as the ball bounces off my leg?

Asked by Doug over 8 years ago

The ball is not out bounds until it hits the floor out of bounds or a player who is out of bounds. If a player steps out of bounds and is the first to touch the ball, the other team gets a throw in. So no, a player cannot get a throw in by getting out of bounds and then getting hit with the ball.