Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If an opposing players hand is on the ground and out of bounce and a running back carry the football steps on the hand yet never steps on the ground out of bounce other than the hand, is the running back considered out of bounce?

Asked by Geese31 over 8 years ago

A player who touches anything or anyone that is out if bounds makes that player out of bounds. So yes.

Can a receiving team player catch a kick off in the field of play and back into his own end zone for a touchback?

Asked by Gpo almost 9 years ago

He can back up, but if he kneels or is tackled there it's a safety.

If a player is running down the sideline for a touchdown, ball is in one hand extended over the out of bounds line, runs into the Endzone, ball still extended, he never steps out however the ball is extended outside the pile on, is it still a td?

Asked by Tim over 8 years ago

Yes. In that case it's the "goal line extended". The player is in bounds as he crosses; the ball also is considered to have crossed the GL.

if a high school receiver catches a ball in the air and brushes the goal post before he contacts the ground is he in or out of bounds

Asked by fred almost 9 years ago

The goal post is out of bounds. By touching the goal post before touching the ground in bounds, the receiver is out of bounds. Incomplete pass.

If the defense is in cover 1, and the QB see's the weak side linebacker up on the line of scrimmage, what does that tell the QB?

Asked by Patsr#1 over 8 years ago

This is a site dealing with officiating. Find the one dealing with being a quarterback.

when a Line Backer, hits the running back or whoever is with the ball with face mask to face mask collision, is that considering targeting?

Asked by leonardo almost 9 years ago

In college, technically the answer is yes. Rule 9-1-4 Note 2: "Leading with helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area". Would it be called? Maybe, mabe not. It is a bang-bang play and when there isn't a launch or a crouch and upward drive by the tacker, it's a bit tougher to call. But if it's on film - and it is - and a supervisor sees that you didn't call it, you've got a problem. At the very least, you have a personal foul.

Why did we not see the National Anthem before the packer game! It's a part of football

Asked by Pat over 8 years ago

You'll have to contact Fox Sports for that answer.