Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If a player see on the one yard line and reaches the ball outside of the pylon is this a touchdown or do you mark the ball at the one

Asked by dmesz15 over 8 years ago

If I'm reading you right, the runner goes down in bounds on the one. He is reaching the ball forward but the ball goes outside the pylon. The ball is placed where it crossed the sideline.

Can a receiving team player catch a kick off in the field of play and back into his own end zone for a touchback?

Asked by Gpo over 8 years ago

He can back up, but if he kneels or is tackled there it's a safety.

if a high school receiver catches a ball in the air and brushes the goal post before he contacts the ground is he in or out of bounds

Asked by fred over 8 years ago

The goal post is out of bounds. By touching the goal post before touching the ground in bounds, the receiver is out of bounds. Incomplete pass.

During a match referee awards a penalty, can a player replace his goal keeper only for the kick? if yes does he change his jersey.

Asked by Christopher Fernandes over 8 years ago

Hmmm, wrong football. Sorry, can't help.

Is it pass interference if a d-player is running behind the o-player on a pass upfield but the ball is thrown short so the o-player comes back against the d-player but the d-payer doesn't have time to react and never turns around?

Asked by jp-pats over 8 years ago

Technically as you describe it, the defender is still moving forward and is not playing the ball. They both have a right to the ball and - again - as you describe it the receiver turns to play the ball. If the defender continues going through the receiver, that defensive pass interference.

In the NCAA,is it legal to hand the ball forward no then pass the ball?

Asked by Mark R. over 8 years ago

As long as the passer is behind the line of scrimmage then yes.

If two players are running down the field and one punches the other it is a personal foul. Why is it not a personal foul when one player has the football and another player tries to punch the football out missing and punching the arm or ribs?

Asked by Jeff over 8 years ago

What is the intent of the act? While officials can't always determine intent, in the case you cite, if a player is trying to strip the ball and something else happens, you look at intent. Throwing a punch is quite different.