Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In tonights game between dolphins and texans on the play at end of first half where Osweiler fumbled and Houston picked it up for a td, the ball went backwards so why not a backwards pass which is in play for defense to pick up and run into end zone?

Asked by Greg over 6 years ago

A fumble is a fumble, not a backwards pass. That being said, they're both still alive for a defensive score.

Why hasn't any quarter back worn tented visors so the MLB won't read his eyes?

Asked by Ken S over 6 years ago

At least in college, it is illegal. For safety reasons. A trainer needs to be able to see a player's eyes if they are hurt. If a helmet can't be removed (e.g. possible neck injury) the eyes will help determine consciousness.

A holds B on a scimmage kick at the line of scrimmage. Is the spot of enforcement where A recieves the scrimmage kick.

Asked by Jeffrey Kroupa almost 7 years ago

First, minor correction: B receives the kick. The foul by A is a previous spot, meaning a rekick after penalty enforcement.

Does the rulebook require cessation of play when the whistles begin blowing? Is there an explicit rulebook exception for when the ball is loose? What is the penalty for not stopping when the whistle blows, if in fact not stopping can be penalized?

Asked by James over 6 years ago

I can only imagine what happened that generated THIS question!

Lots here so one step at a time. The whistle blows, play is supposed to stop. In theory, the "play kills itself", meaning that even if a whistle didn't sound,if a player, for example, jumped on the pile, that is still a foul. "But I didn't hear a whistle!" says over-zealous player. You jumped on a pile of players!

You ask if there is an explicit rulebook exception for when the ball is loose; I'm guessing you mean what happens if the ball is loose - or not in possession, such as a pass in the air - and the whistle sounds. Yes, there is a rule for that. It is termed an "inadvertant whistle"; the official screwed up and, yes, I've done it. As have most officials, whether they admit to it or not. Depending on the result, different things happen. Too much to cover here.

Next, penalty for not stopping? Hmm, yes, but there's some judgmenf involved. Example A: player calls for a fair catch, whistle blows, he takes off. Technically, that is a delay of game. Careful throwing that one. The most obvious is Example B: Whistle blows and player continues to block or tackle. It could be a personal foul; not for not "stopping" but for the forceful action (contact) when it should be stopped.

I’m trying to understand why the offensive line has to get set, but the d line can move?

Asked by Joe over 6 years ago

I really dont kni the absolute answer. Structure? Organization? To avoid chaos? I dont speak for those who wrote the rules, but if the offense could move constantly you'd have a very chaotic scene. When would the ball get snapped? How many could be on the line or in the backfield? You'd pretty much have rugby.

Question: Do you know where the money went that Bell gave up the last two weeks?
1. Steelers get to keep it for future players.
2. Back to the NFL.
3. Something else.

Asked by Renee almost 7 years ago

Not a clue. That's not in my area of expertise.

In Notre Dame vs Va Tech today, Notre Dame received a punt. No fair catch signal. Receiver caught the ball at the 2 yard line, stepped back into the end zone & took a knee. This was not called a safety. Ball was spotted on the 2. l Why not safety

Asked by bob over 5 years ago

We have a wording issue with your question. If the receiver caught the kick and then intentionally stepped back into the endzone and took a knee then, yes, it is a safety. But what you likely saw was momentum in play. If a player intercepts a pass or catches/recovers a kick between the five yard line and the goal line and his momentum carries him into the endzone, then the team gets the ball at the spot of the catch/interception. This is to prevent a cheap safety on what is otherwise a good defensive play. If the receiver caught the ball at the two and it was ruled momentum, then the Irish get the ball at their own two.