Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Are players required to stop play when an official blows their whistle? Is there an exception in the rule book for when the ball is loose on the field and whistles are blowing? Why reward (on review) a fumble recovery after whistles are blowing?

Asked by bridgbum over 8 years ago

When the whistle blows, the play/action stops. If the ball is loose, as in your example, and an official blows the whistle - likely "inadvertently - then the play/action still stops. There are rules that cover those situations, including a loose ball.

If there is 1 second left on a football game clock and the play clock counts down to zero because there are so many players and people on the field, why wouldn’t the team who was supposed to make the next game play receive a delay of game penalty?

Asked by Littlebit over 7 years ago

I'm not sure what you mean by "so many players and people on the field". But if the play clock is running and the clock goes to zero, yes, it's a delay of game. Now, if there were substitutions going on (NCAA rules), it is possible that the defense could cause the delay.

Last play of game... QB runs around and clock expires. He throws the ball up in the air and the opposing team falls on the ball in the end zone. What is the call?

Asked by Jack over 7 years ago

Well, if they fall on the ball, the implication is that the ball is on the ground. That's an incomplete pass and the game is over. If they intercept it and fall on the grounds, the game is over.

In the Second Half kickoff of the Giant V Lion game. A Lion went out of bounds and then touched the kickoff in bounds at the 9. They placed the balk at the 40. How does that happen?

Asked by Jimmy C over 8 years ago

It's a great, smart play by the receiving team. If the player is out of bounds and he touches the kick, then the kick is out of bounds. That is a free kick out of bounds and a foul by the kickers. One option on enforcement is placing the ball 25 yards in advance of the kick. Lions, 1st and 10.

What would have happened during tonights ram niners game the playclock was at zero before the niners recovered the onside kick is ent that A delay of game?? If the niners.would have.scored would it have still counted

Asked by MIKE thomas almost 8 years ago

Didn't see the game but based on what you're writing: thete is a play clock for kickoffs just as on any other play. If the play clock expired before it was kicked (And I've never seen that) then the kickibg team is penalized five yards. So, if it went to :00, there was no kick and thete can't be a recovery. The kicking team, by the way, cannot advance a recovery of their own kick.

In the Detroit game yesterday there was a dispute whether Stafford fumbled or was attempting a pass and upon challenge they ruled it a fumble. But even if it was a pass, the ball was clearly thrown backwards. why wasn't it a loose ball regardless.

Asked by Lane Potkin almost 8 years ago

Didn't see this nor hear anything about it. You're saying it was "clearly back"; maybe not.

10/1/16 Lou vs Clem ques you replied: A def hold is only an auto 1st down if it's against eligible receiver. If not, then like any other penalty, the down is repeated after 10 yard mark off. So, result of play + 10 yards + repeat of down? Thx

Asked by Gorilla over 8 years ago

No. If you accept the DH, then you go from the enforcement spot (previous spot ), Mark off 10vyards, repeat down.