Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Many times the marquee will provide a replay of the last play on the floor. If a bad call is made, and you see the replay, can you check the monitor to over-turn the call as a collaborative team?

Asked by Karen over 11 years ago

In NFHS rules replay is not to be used in ordinary season games.  However, replay use is permitted in a state's playoff series under these conditions: 1) the state has authorized its use, 2) the replay is used to determine timing issues on the last shot, and whether it is a 2 or 3 point shot.  So in high school ball during an in season game you cannot use replay.  In college, the officials use it a few times a game for many situations (flagarant or not on a hard foul, timing issues as to whether a shot was launched before time expired, who is the correct free shooter, etc.)

If a team inbounds the ball and rolls the ball in order to not start the clock, can a 5-second "delay of game" call be made (e.g., on the inbounder)?

Asked by Naphie about 10 years ago

No. The 5 second count is independent of the game clock. On a thrown in, the team has 5 seconds to RELEASE the ball. Here's the rule:

"Once the throw in starts, the ball shall be released on a pass directly into the court before 5 seconds has elapsed."

NOTE: The throw in starts when the ball is at the disposal of throw in player. So when the throw in player lets go of the ball, the 5 count restriction is satisfied.

Two players jump for rebound. Player A has two hand on the ball, B tries to flick the ball out while doing that B's hand has some contacts within A's inner arms. A calls 'foul', is it a valid call? everything happens while both on air.

Asked by Antux almost 11 years ago

Technically slapping the arm of an opponent is a foul.  Inpractice, a referee should use his judgement to determine if that action caused a turnover.  If it did, the foul should be called.  

In your question, you ask if A calls a foul which makes me believe that you are playing without an official.  In pickup games, often rough play is tolerated and calling a slap on the arm is considered weak sometimes.  

if a player dribbles the basketball, while dribbling gets it knocked out of their hands, picks up the ball with both hands, than dribbles again, is that a double dribble?

Asked by djvyce over 11 years ago

The dribble ends when the ball is knocked away, and so does player possession. So, if you pick up the ball and dribble it is not double dribble.  You can pick up a ball with two hands as long as you are lifting up.  If you push down with two hands it is double dribble.

how i can find the rules and regulation in playing basketball

Asked by nia over 10 years ago

You can buy the basketball rules books (rules, case book, officials manual) at the National Federation of High Schools website:

www.nfhs.com/c-195-basketball.aspx

You can look at the NBA rules at their website:

www.nba.com/analysis/rules_index.html

You can download NCAA rules at their website:

www.ncaa.org/championships/playing-rules?division=d1

 

 

Defensive player A fouls Offensive player B on the way to the basket. Player B takes another step and charges hard into defensive player C standing under the basket. Is there an offensive foul as well?

Asked by Pittfall over 10 years ago

This is an unusual play with the foul on defensive player A being called. Normally, a second foul could is ignored as long as it is unintentional because the first foul made the ball dead. If the offensive player is on the ground and fouled, then steps into a charge the charge would be ignored.

But here is an interesting twist. What if Offensive player B is an airborne shooter fouled in the act of shooting by defender A but plows into defender B before touching the floor. The ball is not dead when an airborne shooter is fouled until they hit the floor so technically this could be called a simultaneous foul and go to the possession arrow. In practice, most officials will call the foul on defender A and ignore the subsequent player control foul (charge).

I am in a 2-3 defense top defender. Offensive player makes a pass down the middle which i block with my arm. ball falls from my hand to foot. is that a kick?

Asked by Jerry Peoples over 10 years ago

A kick is the intentional contact with the leg or foot. As you describe it sounds unintentional, and therefore not a kick.